Example for delivery

Link to article

Actress Andie MacDowell took classes to alter her strong Southern accent when she began her acting career. In her first film Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes, her voice was dubbed by actress Glenn Close. This 1996 quote describes her reaction:

When I heard the news, I was in my hotel room, alone. At the time of “Greystoke”, I was not even in a good relationship, so I had no one to share it with. I didn’t deceive myself for one minute about what the media was going to do with it or what people in the business were going to think. I said to myself, “Either I jump out that window out of humiliation and embarrassment or I fight”. The choice was there: die or fight. It was set up so perfectly for people to think that I had no capabilities, whatsoever. So, I decided to go to class, to evolve. Until Sex, Lies, and Videotape (1989), I was untouchable. My manager was fighting for me with people who would not even see me. It certainly hasn’t been easy, but I’m proud of my achievements.

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

Tags: , ,

About teachingpublicspeaking

I believe public speaking can go from most dreaded class to favorite class. I'm a former public speaking college instructor who spent years seeking out activities, assignments and examples to make the class interactive as well as educational -- they are collected here. I welcome suggestions for additions.

What do you think?

