A note on speech assignments

There are any number of ways to do speech assignments, of course. At my university students came into the class after taking an English class focusing on research, which assigned a “current issues” paper and presentation. I wanted to come up with assignments that avoided “current issues” so that I did not get warmed-over English projects.

I had a total of five speech assignments:

  • Impromptu speeches
  • Introductory speeches (tell a story)
  • Informative speeches (describe your birthday)
  • Persuasive speeches (sales presentation)
  • Group persuasive speeches (improve something at the university)

I will describe each one in detail in separate posts and include the web resources that I made available to help the students.

Tags:

About teachingpublicspeaking

I believe public speaking can go from most dreaded class to favorite class. I'm a former public speaking college instructor who spent years seeking out activities, assignments and examples to make the class interactive as well as educational -- they are collected here. I welcome suggestions for additions.

What do you think?

