Lesson planning for day one (reblog)

teachingpublicspeaking

As semesters are nearing a start, I wanted to reblog an overview of my plan for the first day of class. There are several more items in the Day One category at the right.

The first day of class offers several challenges — demonstrating your ethos, covering important material and setting a tone for the rest of the semester. It can be hard to do it all well while also having students wandering in late, realizing they are in the wrong room, etc.

Here is an overview of how I approached the first day of class:

  • Information cards: I used the back side of old business cards and had the instructions for students up on the screen. I asked only basic questions like name (as you want to be called), preferred e-mail address, goal for this course, any concerns about the course. I have this set up well before class…

View original post 433 more words

About teachingpublicspeaking

I believe public speaking can go from most dreaded class to favorite class. I'm a former public speaking college instructor who spent years seeking out activities, assignments and examples to make the class interactive as well as educational -- they are collected here. I welcome suggestions for additions.

What do you think?

